Cell for Differently Abled Persons


Persons with disability are unable to access education at all levels. In the higher education sector, the Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment and University Grants Commission support all Universities to involve and empower differently-abled persons in special education activities.

Aims & Objectives

  • To facilitate admission of persons with disability by following Rules & Regulations and Policies of the States and Central Governments,
  • To provide counselling to differently-abled individuals in the University for better learning support,
  • To provide guidance to avail various fellowships / scholarships of different funding agencies,
  • To provide appropriate financial assistance to disabled individuals to increase their sustainability in higher education,
  • To create awareness about the needs of persons with disabilities and other general issues concerning disabilities,
  • To provide equal educational opportunities to disabled persons in the University,
  • To provide infrastructural needs to enable them to easily access classrooms, laboratories, toilets, etc for barrier free learning environment,
  • To provide special facilities in the University campus for differently abled persons under the programme of Integrated Education for Disabled Children by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India,
  • As per the UGC guidelines, promote Teacher Preparation in Special Education (TEPSE), Higher Education for Persons with Special Needs (Differently-Abled Persons) (HEPSN) and Visually Handicapped Teachers (VHT) schemes.

Categories of the Disability:

As per the guidelines of the University Grants Commission, New Delhi and the Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment and the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India, the "Disability" is classified in following categories:

  • (i) Blindness
  • (ii) Low vision
  • (iii) Leprosy-cured
  • (iv) Hearing impairment
  • (v) Loco motor disability
  • (vi) Mental retardation and
  • (vii) Mental illness

Committee Members:

Dr. Bhawani Singh Chairman
Dr. Vipul Sharma Member
Prof. Devendra Vijayvargiya Member
Dr. B.D. Lahoti Member
Sh. Rohit Singh Rajawat Member
Ms. Sarveshwari Raniwala Member
Sh. B. M. Meena Member Secretary
Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Nodal Officer : Dr. O.P. Rishi
Last Updated on : 17/05/24